Hey, nice trash. Wanna be friends?

Monday and Thursday mornings are trash day in the neighborhood. The thing I find most bizarre about trash day here is that most people don’t put their trash in cans. They just set the bags and stuff next to the curb. For all the world to see. And every early morning jogger like yours truly.

First of all, I can’t believe I just called myself a jogger, but I did manage my first 30 minute run without stopping last night! It felt awesome. C25K is fantastic. I have averaged running about 4-6 times a week for over a month now. Although I lumber down the streets like a hippo in clown shoes, I still manage to lumber about 2.5 miles each time. That is equivalent to two full-sized martinis WITH olives, or one gigantic margarita with real sugar, or three beers, or one grilled cheese with chips or…dare I say…. one Cinnabon.

Ok, this business with the trash. Now to be honest, you can’t really see what is inside the bags, but all of their empty, bulk sized boxes, take out bags and shopping sacks, are out sitting on the curb. As I run by, I take note.

“Geez, that house drinks like two 24 packs of REAL Coke each week. That is so gross.” 123 Mountaintop Dr. NOT on the future friend list.

“What is that? An empty PF Chang’s bag next to an empty case of wine?” 456 Hummingbird Ln. When are we doing dinner together?

“Seriously? Hunt’s ketchup? Gross.” 48 Tinsel Ct. Not gonna happen. Friends of Heinz are friends of mine. I’ll pass on that BBQ party.

“Is that a Target bag I see?” 1514 River Walk Ln. Looks like I’m not the only one in town who drives 45 minutes to go to Target, even though we have a Walmart five minutes away. Wanna carpool?

Can you see where I’m going with this? Good thing my iphone has a note taking feature. Probably not a good idea to run with a pencil and notepad tucked into my sports bra.

8 thoughts on “Hey, nice trash. Wanna be friends?

  1. Hahaha this is brilliant. When I go out on recycling mornings I am staggered with the amount of empty wine bottle all my neighbours consume. Did I miss some kinda party or do I just live down a road of 100 alcoholics ?? πŸ˜› funny post :p

    • I subscribe to the newspaper only for the Sunday comics/salespapers/coupons; but it’s cheaper to get a week’s subscription than just order Sunday (weird, I know). I also consume wine on occasion..
      I don’t take out the recycle bin weekly, but when I do, it’s just loaded up with newspapers and wine.. always thought people might judge me just a little.. πŸ˜‰

      • hahaha so you are one of THEM people ;D haha, one of my neighbours once tried to hide all their wine bottles underneath the newspapers in their recycling (fear of the judging eyes of neighbour-watch) which actually was a crap idea because the wind blew, newspapers went flying and in the streets attempt to pick up all this stray newspaper could see the hidden treasure underneath. πŸ˜› Ohh, my road does provide occasional entertainment :’)

Leave a Reply

