Run, Forrest, run!

Here is my current list of motivational factors for running:

1. Being chased by a killer.

2. I’m in the Hunger Games and there is only one block of cheese in the Cornucopia.

3. A tornado.

4. An ice cream truck.

That’s it so far. Not too bad. But, I’d like to improve on my current list so I’ve decided to sign up for a 5K run. It’s called The Color Run and looks like my kind of party! The money has been paid and a friend roped in, so no backing out now! It’s in about 2 months, so I’m going to try training for it using the C25K plan. And maybe, just maybe, my thighs will shrink in the process. Or, I’ll get a date with this guy.

Today is Day 3 of the Belly Fat Cure and so far it’s crazy easy. I will be totally amazed if I actually lose weight this way. Is it possible? I’m going to skip my weigh in this Sunday and step on the scale on Tuesday morning. That way it will have been a full week of “dieting.” Plus it’s also Put On The Pants Day that day!

I skipped the 5:30am Crossfit today and took my kids with me to the 9:30am class. I’m sure everyone was just thrilled to have my kids there. “What you doing?,” “Can I try?,” “My mommy has more bigger butt than you.” Ha ha. Nah, they were pretty good but not sure I’ll do that again.

So yep, I’m gonna be a runner. I know, a 5K is nothing for all you runner people, but it’s like tackling Everest to me. The thought of running is about as exciting as eating a “paleo pancake.” Ok, the pancake thing is even worse, but still. This is no small potatoes we’re talking about here. But the thought of random people chucking packets of colored powder at my face, has me intrigued. I’m gross like that. As Forrest would say, “That’s all I gotta say about that.”

 

24 thoughts on “Run, Forrest, run!

      • I actually enjoyed the movie quite a bit. I delayed watching it with my wife because I thought it was of the “Twilight” genre, but it actually has some pretty good action and is a terrific story. Haven’t read the books yet though.

  1. Been going through your blogging archives.. lol. Have you kept up with the C25K program? I’ve never been athletic and just over a year ago, I got the crazy idea that I wanted to run a 5K as well. I started the program in March and it took me 6 months to be able to finish it, but hey, i did a 5K in September 2011 and felt awesome! (Well, aside from the wanting-to-die-after-part..)

    Good luck!!

      • When I first did the program and I made it to the stage of having to run 8 minutes in a row, I thought I was going to die. I still hate running, but at least know I can run more than 8 minutes at a time now!

      • I about die each time, but am running the 5k with a friend in 2 weeks and I know she can run the whole thing, so I don’t want to bring her down and make her walk. I’m a big fan of peer pressure. ha ha. so i just put up today’s post and it shows even more of my fatness. gross.

      • I ran my first 5k with my boyfriend and I had the same mentality, like I had to show him that I could do it more so than show myself lol. Now I’m doing things more for me!
        I’m running the Color Run in July (and shaking my head that I signed up..) but it will be interesting to see how my anti-cardio working out will impact my running! 🙂

      • you have tons of time to prepare! I’m doing the color run too! Fun! nothing like having people throwing powder in your face while you are hyperventilating!

      • Haha.. exactly my thoughts! I love lifting, but just still struggle with the whole endurance-type things. CrossFit definitely intrigues me, but I got to work on building up the stamina!

      • My program I’m doing will carry me through the first part of July then I’m ready to work on something else. The BF has just been doing the WODs from Crossfit.com everyday in his homemade home-gym, so I may look into that. It’s hard to commit to a $150 gym that isn’t really close just yet :\

      • That’s awesome that it’s only $50! The two closest ones to here are between $150-$200, depending on how many days a week you sign up for.
        I go to LA Fitness, and I’m more motivated by physically getting up and going rather than using equipment at home.

        Does your hubby workout with you?

      • I’m the same. No, he doesn’t work out, but it would be great if he did. But then again…if he worked out, who would watch my kids? ha ha

    • Yeah, I’m on week 7 and have my first 5k on the 23rd of this month. It has been a great program. The only running I did before that was to the bathroom. Are you keeping up with it? Still running?

Leave a Reply

