Fat Tom

Happy Easter everyone! In celebration of today’s holiday, I’d like to share with you all the blog of a very “special” friend (picture the Church Lady from SNL talking here.) He writes a blog under the category of Christian Humor.  I have tortured his soul and got his mind thinking with my quote, “I don’t know anything about Jesus, but I love reading your blog!” Something like that. It’s true though. If anyone is going to stir some interest in me with regards to religion, it’s my friend Tom. He is a gifted writer, hilarious, and he claims he was once a fatty, like me. If you didn’t pay your respects and go to church today, or you are just sitting on the couch reading this in a Peeps induced coma (like me), then check out his blog Fat Tom goes to Blogville, it will put a smile on your face this Easter.

Also since it’s Easter, I’d like to share some of my favorite books loosely (keep that in mind) based on religion. Now, if Tom knows some of my beliefs have also come from reading these types of books, he just may lose even more sleep tonight. Now, if only he’d start writing books.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore (My ulto-fav)

Now let me  share with you my ultimate, unforgivable sins this Easter Day…

The Chocolate One

And The Lemon One

The Birdie Roll

Here are my Pale-NO’s for today. Chocolate and lemon bundts, Monkey Bread that I accidentally left out overnight to rise, and those little mutated things in the oven are supposed to be bread rolls shaped like birds. The poster on Pinterest said, “They are much easier than they look.” Her pants are SO on fire.

As you can see from my weigh in, I’ve gained a pound and that was before today’s Easter food extravaganza. For a day I gave up on Paleo. Even called it stupid, stupid, stupid on Facebook. BUT, with that said, I’m going to give it another go, but my way. Also, a friend mentioned a book she has been using to guide her though what she says is “the easiest diet ever.” So, of course I’m going to buy it and try it. I’ve tried everything else, why not? Maybe I should write a diet book just to make some quick cash. How hard can it be?There’s got to be a billion people out there like me, who will buy any diet book on the market. Thinking… thinking… thinking….

Alright, time to eat all these leftovers and get them out of the kitchen. Don’t want to be wasteful. Hmm, this not wanting to be wasteful is probably one of the reasons my “waist” is so “full.” I’ll have to talk about that theory in my new diet book…….

4 thoughts on “Fat Tom

  1. Ummm, how about Rubber Band Pants? Maria, I read all of the books you mentioned and they influenced me pretty heavily, too. LOOOOOVED Lamb, which I borrowed from you. Had me crying I laughed so hard. I still think of those stories when I’m in church hearing the “other” side. LOL

  2. Maria – the only book I remember vividly reading with you was probably the 2nd to last time I actually saw you and we were like….5-6 years old and it was all about how to make babies and it had naked grown ups! My SOOOO overprotective conservative mom would’ve never let me see that! It was a scandal!! ;o)

Leave a Reply

