Agave, baby!

It cracked me up to read a message from Caveman Danny about his Paleo Diet and drinking. Now, I don’t drink much anymore but when I’m told I CAN’T have it… You all know how that goes. It’s the same with cheese, but that’s another post. Thanks, Caveman Danny, for inspiring today’s post. He even hooked me up with this link to a very interesting article indeed.  I’m such a sucker for any kind of justifiable excuse. This article really spoke to me. I was moved. “Moved” out of my seat and over to our liquor cabinet to see if we had any agave tequila. It also may have said, “Maria, go ahead and pour yourself a margarita, you totally deserve it.” According to the author, now that I’m not eating all that processed crap, I may have even less of a hangover. Hmm, it’s 11:00am, I’m home alone with the kids and it’s too cold to play outside. It’s like being in the Hunger Games arena, but with a lot more screaming and hand to hand combat. Although this would be the most perfect scenario for a nice, stiff tequila shot, I’ll  continue on being Supermom and Domestic Goddess until Coy and Noah get home from fishing. Then, I’m making this Margarita.

Paleo Margarita

On another note, I made us some Paleo Pancakes for breakfast. All I can say is, “What the hell was that?” Totally gross and technically, I made them un-paleo by pouring a butt load of Maple Syrup on them. Did that stop me from eating them? No. I ate four. Yes, four. They looked like a cross between a cowpie and dog vomit. They took forever to make, plus now I have a bowl, grater, frying pan, and a bunch of other shit to clean up. Did I make my poor kids eat them? Of course I did! I told them they were “blueberry apple fritters.” They hate me.

Since today is Good Friday, only three of us showed up at CrossFit. It was the three of us with little kids who get up at 6 EVERYDAY of the week. We did these body weight squat things (where you hold a bar that is your body weight), and what do you know? Today I only weighed 45lbs. This Paleo thing must really be working. I did my squats in front of a mirror and each time I squatted down, I looked like a sausage. A big, blue, spandex sausage. Awesome.

9 thoughts on “Agave, baby!

  1. You crack me up!! When I read these while I’m at work (and always laughing out loud) someone always wants to know what I’m reading.

  2. Lol! Hahaha! You crack me up Maria! You’re too funny!!!
    Been drinking margaritas all week! I swear It’s non alcoholic, I feel nothing, No matter how many I make! So weird.
    And your pancakes look a little like cow patties! Haha! I’d eat em! They look super healthy!

  3. I am so pleased that I have inspired you :)~

    Im not much of a internet whiz so unsure of how to hyperlink as you have done a few times… but I found this pancake post yesterday… totally paleo and looks OK…

    http://healthyfortwo.com/2012/04/05/flour-free-paleo-pancakes/

    Jay also thinks Maple Syrup is totally fine if you buy 100% organic as it doesn’t have all the flavourings etc in it…

    I want a margarita now… and I dont even like them… mmm

  4. I have tears in my eyes from laughing so hard at reading your post… Yes, this is why we go to CrossFit at 5:30 is because we don’t want to have to be the ones who get up with the kids at 6am… You definitely keep Brian entertained for our workouts, now I have to go get the donuts…

Leave a Reply

