Toxic Peeps? Sure, I’ll have one.

Is sugar toxic? Read this article and watch the 60 Minutes video attached to it. If this doesn’t motivate me to feed my kids better, I don’t know what will.

With that being said, all I want right now is to raid the kid’s Easter candy that I’ve stashed away. It’s just a bunch of little Peeps, but I’ve been thinking about them since 6:30 this morning. Maybe I should? Just because it would be wrong of me to give them to my kids after reading that article about sugar being toxic, right? I’d be sacrificing myself for them. I mean, how selfish would I be to give them Peeps when I could eat them myself and save them from filling their bodies up with toxins?

Today for lunch it was a salad. I DESPISE salads. I LOATHE them. I HATE them. To me, a salad is something you eat to stave off your starvation while you wait for the real food to arrive. That is what I believed, until today. This salad “dressing” has rocked my world. I tossed some roasted chicken and sliced almonds in it. Then dumped it on my sad, little wilting spring leaves and voila!, it was transformed into…dare I say, a meal? Yes, a meal. A salad meal. My three youngest kids were staring at their apples, cheese and turkey slices as if I’d served them poison. Kaia shouts, “I want salad, Mommy!” Then Reeve, “Ree-Ree want salad too!” And even Mr. Picky, “Maddox want salad three!” So we all ate our salad meals together. Oh, yeah, I can do this.

Sun-Dried Tomato Salad Dressing or Marinade

  • 1 C sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 C extra-virgin loive oil
  • 1 Tbs. capers
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 TBS. fresh rosemary
  • Black pepper to taste
Combine all ingredients in a food processor until smooth. OMG.

Noah (my oldest) helping cook! The dude is a health nut. No joke.

And NO, I did not eat a Peep. Do you feel my awesomeness?

6 thoughts on “Toxic Peeps? Sure, I’ll have one.

  1. The older he gets the more he looks like you! I’m so proud to have been his kindergarten teacher!! You have a sweet and smart young man on your hands! Love the blogs……keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

